Seventeen new suburbs for Melbourne

New Law

The Victorian Government will rezone 100,000 housing blocks to create 17 new suburbs in Melbourne to combat housing affordability.

The move to create the new suburbs in Melbourne’s key growth areas is part of a range of measures the Government is announcing this week.

The Government claims the new communities will have access to town centres, schools and infrastructure.

“I think that’s what’s so important about a steady land supply going forward, but also quality planned environments for people who are going to live here,” Planning Minister Richard Wynne told ABC.

Victorian Treasurer Tim Pallas said he wants Victorian housing blocks to stay cheaper than those in Sydney.

“We’re getting on and delivering the policies that will assure Victorians, certainly so far as the supply debate is concerned, that is the amount of housing stock that is available into the market,” he said.

Mr Pallas said the Government’s infrastructure spending had increased from a ten-year average of $4.9 billion to $8.9 billion.

“What does that translate to? Here in the northern suburbs that translates to a Mernda rail line and an outer suburban arterial road program of $1.8 billion for western suburbs of Melbourne,” he said.

“In the very near future we’ll be unveiling comparable packages for the northern suburbs and south-eastern suburbs of metropolitan Melbourne in those growth areas.”

The new suburbs will be:


Quandong, Tarneit Plains, Kororoit, Mt Atkinson, Plumpton

North West

Lancefield Rd, Sunbury, Sunbury South


Lindum Vale, Beveridge North West, Beveridge Central, Donnybrook and Woodstock, Wollert, Northern Quarries

South East

Minta Farm, Pakenham East, McPherson


News & Resources